//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Daily doodle: How to remove a raised stripped screw

image

Okay, I had this problem today when trying to remove some mounting brackets from my car stereo. Here’s how I solved it and I hope it helps someone out there. Today’s doodle is to help you remove a stripped, raised screw (one that is not flush to its surface). I looked up various ways to do this (drilling it, hammering into it with a screwdriver, duct tape for grip, using a dremel to cut a groove for a flathead screwdriver). I tried this approach instead. Using a dremel with a flat grinder tip, I ground two flat sides to the screw head. Then, I used slip joint pliers to grip those sides. I pressed down toward the screw for leverage and grip, twisted and voila- screw loosened and removed!

About nguyeningit

Welcome to my daily sketch blog run primarily from my smartphone. I left a corporate job a few years ago to work in comics and on my Art. Follow me, my foibles and triumphs as I do what it takes to improve my skills and make it in the comic book industry. Hey, it's either that or crying myself to sleep and I think I'm too cheery for that ;)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Nguyening It on Twitter

