//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Daily doodle: Answering Questions

image

Har+new from the blog Futuristically Yours asked how to start drawing a person laying in leaves and how to show a person walking and then turning around. There are a few considerations to consider in each of these scenarios such as drawing style and camera angle, but I’ll give you what I’d start with myself.

My recommendation on where to start with either of these scenarios is to have someone model for you and try sketching them out. Nothing beats life drawing to get you started. Short of that, (as it may be challenging to find someone help you), I’d start with laying out your characters loosely. I did my version in today’s daily doodle.

I start my stick figures more as box and sticks. I sketch it out first to figure out where things go. So, for a person laying in leaves, I’d start with a bird’s eye view of someone laying down and then draw in leaves.

As for someone walking and then turning, this might be pacing dependent. Do you want it in one panel or two? In two panels, you can show a person walking in the first and then turning in the second. If you only have one panel, show them walking, but turn the head to show the start of the character turning to address whatever subject is the cause of the turn. I kind of showed you both sketch options combined at the bottom.

Hope that helps you Har+new! If anyone else has tips, feel free to drop it on us because I like learning new ideas as well!

About nguyeningit

Welcome to my daily sketch blog run primarily from my smartphone. I left a corporate job a few years ago to work in comics and on my Art. Follow me, my foibles and triumphs as I do what it takes to improve my skills and make it in the comic book industry. Hey, it's either that or crying myself to sleep and I think I'm too cheery for that ;)

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Daily doodle: Answering Questions

  1. NguyeningIt! Wow! I was just about to ask where the doodle was. I found it and was blown away. I am in WordPress debt with you. I appreciate this. You basically gave me a great guide for my comic.

    And also, I’m not a pro like you that I can have someone model for me and sketch them haha.

    The one where the person laying in leaves is exactly what I was aiming for (bird’s eye).

    I was just gone create a simple stick figure, but now after observing how you made the stick figures boxes I feel like I got the confidence to do the same.

    THANK YOUUUUU!

    Posted by Har+new | February 10, 2015, 8:17 PM
  2. And also, can you define “sketch?” I will be using a Wacom Bamboo Tablet. Is your homepage meant to only show the last doodle? I couldn’t see older posts (like order).

    Posted by Har+new | February 10, 2015, 8:23 PM
  3. Hey, glad I could help! Sketching to me is to loosely draw. You can accomplish this from your tablet. I use a WACOM Intuos II, ASUS Vivotab Note 8 and a Samsung Galaxy Note II for my work. As for models, friends work great 🙂 Also, I keep action figures around for reference. I picked up a Marvel Legends Superior Spider-Man from Amazon for about $6. It’s a great quick reference because it’s super poseable and small.

    Posted by donhoannguyen | February 10, 2015, 9:15 PM
  4. Most of the sketches on this blog are done from my phone. The home page doesn’t have links to previous posts but if you click on the link/title of the front page post, it’ll take you to the actual post and if you look at the bottom you’ll see links to the previous posts. Also, there should be a monthly archive navigation to the right. I’m on my phone now so I can’t verify that but that’s how I had it set up 🙂

    Posted by donhoannguyen | February 10, 2015, 9:18 PM
    • You must have a stylus with your phone? I wonder does the iPhone have an app where I can do these doodles.

      I can definitely look at your comics and tell you used an action figure for reference. Unfortunately, I gave my little brothers my wrestling men lol. I mostly access your blog via email or through reader. This my second time I think being on the actual site.

      Thanks for the confidence boost.

      Posted by Har+new | February 10, 2015, 9:53 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

