//
you're reading...
Art, Drawings

Daily doodle: Tip I learned at #SDCC2015

image

This one is from Jim Lee, one of my favorite comic artists and panelists. If you looked at the Batman sketch from Comic-Con the other day, you might have seen it. An audience member asked him about perspective cityscapes and he quickly drew radiated lines for 1 point perspective that went from narrow to wider gaps. He indicated this was a quick way to estimate perspective. This works well once you have studied perspective and done enough drawing to recognize when something looks out of place. You can do this quickly and lay in your buildings, and pull back the drawing to look at what needs correction. Also doing it by hand gives a more realistic feel. Using a straight edge gives the drawing a more diagram like sensibility.

About nguyeningit

Welcome to my daily sketch blog run primarily from my smartphone. I left a corporate job a few years ago to work in comics and on my Art. Follow me, my foibles and triumphs as I do what it takes to improve my skills and make it in the comic book industry. Hey, it's either that or crying myself to sleep and I think I'm too cheery for that ;)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Nguyening It on Twitter

