//
you're reading...
Art, Comic Book Characters, Drawings, painting

Daily doodle: @VZAage #VZAAlbumCoverHomage #ALadInsane #DavidBowie #TheJoker

image

This goes out to Visual Zen Advocate for putting forth the effort to create an amazing video reference library of working comic artists showing how things are done. Right now, VZA is hosting an album cover homage contest. If you haven’t heard, Marvel is putting out variant covers paying homage to the artwork of some of the greatest hip hop albums of all time. Visual Zen Advocate is running a contest with that theme in mind, but expanding on the idea. Check out the details here.

Since I met them at San Diego Comic-Con while drawing the Joker on stage with Jim Lee, I thought I’d continue the theme. I love hip hop, but let’s give rock’n’roll some love. Per yoozh, this one’s done on my phone using Sketchbook Pro Mobile and my phone’s photo editor app.

About nguyeningit

Welcome to my daily sketch blog run primarily from my smartphone. I left a corporate job a few years ago to work in comics and on my Art. Follow me, my foibles and triumphs as I do what it takes to improve my skills and make it in the comic book industry. Hey, it's either that or crying myself to sleep and I think I'm too cheery for that ;)

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Daily doodle: @VZAage #VZAAlbumCoverHomage #ALadInsane #DavidBowie #TheJoker

  1. I know you probably don’t care but I don’t understand how you don’t have more followers and get more comments/likes. You post everyday and you’re visual.

    Posted by Har+new | July 22, 2015, 5:10 PM
    • Thanks! I’d certainly appreciate it, but I mainly do it to keep motivated. I hope it helps someone out there trying to figure stuff out just like I am. Now and then someone drops by to teach me something as well.

      Posted by donhoannguyen | July 22, 2015, 5:17 PM
      • I love your daily doodles and hope you never become de-motivated. Maybe it’s the tags you use? I don’t know. I follow this blogger who posts random stuff like multiple times a day and she gets over 30 comments/likes on average. You are so consistent and your posts don’t require a lot of time to digest like a thousand word article would.

        I want to share this with you. Don’t know if you follow her or not. It’s this blogger (her posts are on my sidebar) called Little Monster Girl. Recently she posted about not being able to pay for her website (domain/ads/tools) and she asked her readers for a $10 donation and in return she would create a video for each person with her drawing her comic character especially for them. Well, today she announced she made $185 and posted the videos.

        So, there is an audience out there for you that will support.

        Posted by Har+new | July 22, 2015, 5:24 PM
      • Thanks, I’ll check it out! I’m notoriously bad at social media, but I’m pretty good at Art 🙂

        Posted by donhoannguyen | July 22, 2015, 5:34 PM
      • Imagine if you combined the two! 🎉

        Posted by Har+new | July 22, 2015, 5:34 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

