//
you're reading...
Art, Comic Book Characters, Drawings, painting

Daily doodle: Finally got around to reading #PrettyDeadly by @KellySue @Emmartian

image

Wow, seriously. What a great western! I’m still ruminating on the mythos it’s laid down and the beautiful artwork!

About nguyeningit

Welcome to my daily sketch blog run primarily from my smartphone. I left a corporate job a few years ago to work in comics and on my Art. Follow me, my foibles and triumphs as I do what it takes to improve my skills and make it in the comic book industry. Hey, it's either that or crying myself to sleep and I think I'm too cheery for that ;)

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Daily doodle: Finally got around to reading #PrettyDeadly by @KellySue @Emmartian

  1. Wow, that’s beautiful. Still don’t know how you do it to create these pieces. :O I just checked out what Pretty Deadly was about and got intrigued by the “marriage of Sandman with Preacher” description in Goodreads blurb. That sounds really, really promising ! Should check it out myself ! How was the storyline so far?

    – Lashaan

    Posted by transhaan | September 8, 2015, 8:13 AM
    • Hi Lashaan! Thanks for always bopping in! Even though I doodle from my phone, it’s pretty close to doing it traditionally. In Autodesk Sketchbook, you can work in layers. My first layer is a pencil sketch where I compose what I want to do. I loose sketch and tighten it up a bit so I know where my forms go. Since I ink my own work, I don’t necessarily add shading as a guide for an inker. I’ve been freehand inking because it feels a lot like painting to me (well, how I do it anyway). I then color in layers after that.

      Volume 1 of Pretty Deadly is a complete and satisfying story. You should definitely pick it up and review it. I’d call it a beautiful, western allegory that’s perfectly paced and incredibly rendered.

      Posted by nguyeningit | September 8, 2015, 9:40 AM
      • Gosh that sounds like a lot of fun. Also sounds like something that demands a lot of patience ! Glad that you’ve came across our blog, cause yours always pleases our eyes. So much talent and passion in your work !
        I’ll definitely be on the look out for Pretty Deadly. We already have a bunch of series to catch up on right now, but we never forget a series that could peek our interest ! Hopefully we can land on a cheap copy so that it won’t hit hard on our wallets ! 😉

        – Lashaan

        Posted by transhaan | September 8, 2015, 11:11 AM
      • I’m constantly growing and improving. I think patience is a requirement. Definitely not a rush job. Blogging had been a great way to document my growth and impart things I’ve learned.

        I have a local store by me that has a running special on trades and graphic novels. If you go to a con, there’s probably a place that sells them for 40-50% off cover. Sometimes local shops run special sales on them. That’s when I bounce in to support my shops and score fat discounts. If you need some other titles to add for your review queue, I suggest Lazarus, Black Science, Wake, and Outcast. Also, check your local library. I go to one where there is apparently a big comic geek because there are quality books in the collection. It’s also how I got into comics as a kid.

        Posted by nguyeningit | September 8, 2015, 2:02 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Nguyening It on Twitter

